November 2018: Motorhome
What a gem of a site, quiet, peaceful, relaxing and the best place ever for recharging your batteries. Our dogs loved it too, the coastal walks, the beach and the sea, what more does one need except the dog friendly pub on the harbour front. We will be back. Thank you for a great stay x

Keith & Veronica Latham - ( Cumbria )
.......................................................
September 2018 : Tent
lovely camping site,very helpful campsite owners,lovely surrounding area  very peaceful, nice walks,with the dog, we were there september 2018 , just love this campsite,and the owners are very nice, we will going back in august 2019 lovely harbour  very relaxing area harbour inn pub very good nice food,would recommend this site to any couples,good price for 10 nights,, jimmy and judith veteran campers one of the best we have stayed on....

jimmy and judith  ( st,helens Merseyside )
.......................................................
September 2018 : Motorhome
This is a fantastic little site as it is very relaxing and peaceful. Lovely fishing pond and a great facility and having a both where the visitors can meet in the evening. The site is a short walking distance to the very friendly Harbour Inn which is recommended for a meal. If it is a Friday the mobile fish and chip van is in the Village from about 4pm. There are lovely coastal walks and the Village Hall had an exhibition about the Mulberry Piers which should have a permanent home in the Village.Unfortunately the nearby Galloway Gardens were closed but I am sure will be open when we next visit. The site is also an excellent base for the Wigtown Book Festival in September.

Chas and Frances Steven ( East Kilbride )
…....................................................
September 2018 : Tent
Another fantastic stay at Garlieston Lodge, the tenth stay this year! This camp-site is a peaceful and relaxing place, the grounds are immaculate, and the on-site lake is stocked with large trout.
The stream running through the site has a resident kingfisher, which I saw several times, along with a cuckoo in the mature trees (first time I've seen one).
Along with other local produce, there is a wide range of delicious home-grown pork and other meats to buy on-site, perfect for a BBQ! We will be returning in two weeks time, this site is one of the best kept secrets in the south west of Scotland.
Thanks to Christine, Rusty and Darren for making our stay so wonderful.

Ingrid and Steve - ( Tyne and Wear )
…....................................................
August 2018 :Tent
We really enjoyed a very nice and peaceful stay at Garlieston. Darren gave us a very nice warm reception and terrific help with the loan of a hook up cable.
A real pleasure to have met you Darren, you enjoy a wonderful job in a wonderful place, not many people are able to do that. Everything nice and clean and tidy, great peaceful atmosphere....very good. Keep doing what you are doing! We'll see you again.

James and Ann Kirk - ( Stirling )
…....................................................
July 2018 : Tent
Had a great holiday at this superb site we hope to become regular visitors,we have no doubt that for the type holiday we like, quiet with friendly people this is the best site we have visited!.

Dave+heather Weatherhead -  ( Jarrow )
…....................................................
Can't thank you enough Rusty, we had a wonderful two weeks with you.
The site is a total credit to you and all the hard work you put in.
Lovely, picturesque,quiet,peaceful,what more can one ask of a place.
The shy pig is a place for all to enjoy conversation and good company, and share a glass or two.
We can't wait to get back next year,(make sure the pigs are back for Julie's sake) What a great place!! (But don't tell anybody else let's keep it to ourselves) David & Julie

David & Julie Williams - (  Harrogate )
.......................................................
July 2018 : Motorhome
Probably the best place we've stayed in our short time as motorhome owners. The site is idyllic and pitches are large. We overlooked the fishing pond from which mummy duck and her 7 babies came to visit us every day.  Rusty can't do enough for everyone.  He even got us a lobster to take home with us and Rusty it was fabulous. We were sad to leave but will be back as soon as we can. Met so many lovely people in the Shy Pig where all our dogs were off lead and got on together. 
Ps. Don't tell everyone about this site as it's something special xxxx

Carolyn & Alan Otway -  ( North Yorkshire )
…....................................................
Motorhome.
Okay, seems like someone has let the cat out of the bag regarding this particular site and why not, we sold our Motorhome eventually, but prior to that we spent our Christmases here and fell in love with the place.
Rusty, Christine & Darren always made us welcome, and even though we no longer have the Motorhome we intend to pay a visit, the site was truly a place where the weight of the world definitely stayed at the wrought iron gate, we miss it but will see you soon. Thanks for the memories and good times.

Dave & Paula Cope - ( Washington )
…....................................................
June 2018 : Tent
Another superb stay at Garlieston Lodge (6th stay this year!).  This secluded camp site is very relaxed, and a wonderful place to enjoy a holiday as it promotes deep relaxation.  Weather has been hot and sunny for all six visits, and the local wildlife never fails to impress along the many miles of stunning coastal walks. Thanks to Rusty and Darren for making us so welcome, we will be back again soon!
Ingrid and Steve -  (North East)
…....................................................
June 2018 : Caravan
Just back from this idyllic site again. This has to be the best site in Britain. If your looking for a site where your made to feel welcome from arriving to leaving then this is it. But don't tell anyone as it will be full when you want to go.

Alan + Linda Hendry - (Sunderland)
…....................................................
May 2015 : Trailer Tent 
We are regular visitors and find this one of the most relaxing sites. Rusty and his family are always welcoming. Nice walks close to the site. The pub is dog friendly and the food is good, well worth a visit but I would suggest you book.

Colin & Bonnie - (Borders)
…....................................................
April 2018  : Caravan
What an amazing site enhanced by the friendliest hosts and welcome. We have just returned from 5 nights at the site when we hardly moved from the site because of its relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend this site for anyone who enjoys being made to feel special and sharing a drink and chat with others in the Bothy!
Thank you, we will be back!

Neil and Hazel - (Fife)
.......................................................
February 2018 : Motorhome
Our only problem was not being able to stay long enough. Was greeted on arrival with all facilities explained. Made to feel welcome and that nothing would be too much trouble. Great walks from site. Not your run of the mill, bog standard, with no atmosphere type of site. Perfect.

Tim and Dianne - (Pilling, Lancashire )
…....................................................
October 2017 : Motorhome
Absolutely excellent site - quiet and well-maintained with spotless facilities. Good walks and a dog-friendly pub five minutes walk away add to the attraction. Will return without a doubt. Thanks to Rusty - the hard work pays off.

Alistair & Cuillin the dog  - ( Glasgow )
.......................................................
September 2017 : Caravan
We enjoyed four nights here in mid September 2017; we had visited years ago and always wanted to return but circumstances prevented this. We were not disappointed by our return trip. Rusty and his son Darren greeted us and literally positioned the caravan for us on the plot; first class service. This way we got the best views from our lounge. The pitch was level with a gravel base and immaculately kept. The toilet/shower facilities were great and well kept. A large selection of books and DVD's were available FOC and many useful information leaflets on the local area to help us enjoy our stay outside the campsite.
The other campers were really friendly and there was a very large cabin/summerhouse where most of them met nightly for a wee drink before your evening meal (bring your own)... good opportunity to catch up on the days activities or just have a good natter.
Certainly I'd say the best kept small site we have visited. The really comprehensive website tells you all you need to know about eggs / meat for sale on site and local amenities... take a browse!! 

Nick and Elizabeth Bagshaw - ( County Durham )
.......................................................
September 2017 : Motorhome
Had a very good visit stayed 3 nights - sight is really good fantastic views great walks straight from the site. Harbour inn pub within 5 mins walk it was really welcoming food great and very dog friendly will definitely go back.

David Barton - ( Lancashire )
.......................................................
June 2017 : Caravan
What a find absolutely brilliant. From the moment you drive through the gates you will fall in love with this place. We where met by Darren who showed us to our pitch and helped un hitch the van and put it in position we knew we where somewhere special. It is one of the best sites if not the best we have been to. So quiet and tranquil   we stayed for 8 nights and wish it had been longer. The peace and quiet was so relaxing. The information given by Darren and Rusty was always first class as to where to go and what to see. We will definitely be returning if we are lucky enough to get booked in. Thank you.
Alan Hendry - ( Sunderland  )
…....................................................
July 2017 : Caravan
Just got back it was our first time but not our last it is a beautiful site so peaceful lovely to hear the river we overlooked the lake it was so tranquil can't wait for next year thanks to Rusty for being so friendly and helpful see you next July

Elaine &John Green - ( Lincolnshire )
…....................................................
July 2017 : Tent
Well just back from Another week at Garlieston lodge We had a few good days weather and a few bad days but that's the great English weather but again a lovely relaxing holiday, a big thanks to Rusty and Darren same spot as last year. This is a great place to recharge the battery's. Fantastic site  looking forward to next year big thanks.

Margaret & Rob - ( Newcastle)
.......................................................
June 2017  : Caravan
We had a wonderful eight days here last month. Weather was fab for most of the week. My bird feeder cost me a fortune that week to keep filled, I have never seen so many finches and tits. And myself and Darren spotted a Fly Catcher which had never been seen on site before.
A wonderful peaceful and delightful site which we would highly recommend !

Martin & Ann-Marie. - ( Preston ,Lancs )
.......................................................
June 2017 : Caravan
Well it's that time again,to leave our review,and as we have said on previous visits it was lovely. We always get to relax here,as it is so picturesque,peaceful,and calming. Just what we needed. We cannot fault a thing,apart from we cannot stay longer,hopefully that will change in a few years,when we can. Thanks very much to ,Rusty,Darren,Christine and not forgetting Jack. They always make you welcome,as do the other friends we have met from staying here,most of which we managed to see this time around. The eggs,sausage,bacon,honey and haggis are very tasty and well worth a try. We cannot wait for our next visit. Thanks again all of you,and tight lines Darren for that big Bass.
 
Angie, Grahame, and Yogi - (Stockton on Tees)
.......................................................
July 2017  : Motorhome
What a fantastic site. So quiet and peaceful yet very friendly. We were welcomed by Darren who escorted us to our pitch and explained everything thoroughly. The pitches are large and arranged well on the site. Shower and toilet exceptionally clean and warm.
Unfortunately we only booked for two nights as we were meeting friends elsewhere but we will be back it was such a great site.

Dot and Brian Bowe - (Silecroft)
…....................................................
June 2017 : Motorhome
Nice relaxing site weather was good too, we were parked right next to the lake, no complaints at all.

Maureen and John - (Cheshire)
.......................................................
May 2017 : Motorhome
What a fantastic wee site, a warm welcome from Rusty.  The pitch is a great size, even for our unusual set up. The beautiful blue fresh eggs from the lavender hens were delicious, as was the sausages and bacon from their own black pigs Toilet and shower kept beautifully clean and the ingenious light system that is seen from most pitches is a great idea. We will definitely be back to this gem of a site. We especially liked our view of the fishing lake from our pitch Thank you to Darren and Rusty see you soon.

Marie & Charlie Milne - (Edinburgh)
.......................................................
May 2017 : Trailer Tent
Another relaxing few days with you, thanks. It was just what we needed. As always a fabby site if you need to chill out and relax. Lots to visit in the area, lots of lovely walks, fabby local pub that lets dogs in, their fish was amazing.

Colin and Bonnie Barquist - ( Scottish Borders )
…....................................................
April 2017 : Caravan
Stayed for 11 nights and what a fantastic site this is compared to that soulless Caravan Club Site next door. It is the best site we have been on and we have been caravanning for 45 years! Rusty and Darren put our caravan into the exact spot we wanted, no mover required lol. A Doctors appointment was sorted for me when I had an accident. We acquired some crabs and Rusty boiled them for us and what a size they were. Later Rusty got some more, so cheap and massive. We will be back. Also recommended the site to all of our friends and relatives. Thanks Rusty, Chris, Darren and Darrens faithful companion Jack.

Alan and Carol - ( Notts )
.......................................................
October 2016 : Caravan
I have been home now for 10 days since my last visit to Garlieston Lodge. October and November is a beautiful time to visit this site, watching the leaves turn and seeing the Robins and Blackbirds mooching in the leaves for food and pottering around the site and my awning ! AND little or NO fireworks , even at this time of year, peace and quiet is the norm for this site but  I miss the sound of the owl now I am home.The new addition to our  pack,  Maddie (20 week old rescue puppy) has enjoyed socialising with all the four legged visitors to the site and all the cuddles , thanks to Jack for being so patient with her, she has been spoilt. I have made new friends and acquaintances this year and met old friends ?? ??. Thanks to Rusty, Darren , Christine and Jack  for many fab times during my visits this year. Now I have booked for next year I don't mind saying if you haven't visited this site , then if you like peace and quiet and lovely surroundings with nature all around you , then you must visit. I look forward to seeing in the new year at Garlieston Lodge  but will miss not being there on Christmas Day ?
Lynn - ( Cheshire )
…...................................................
September 2016 : Caravan
Just back from another great stay at Garlieston Lodge. We haven't been able to go for 2 years and got the same welcome as we would have done, had we just been there last week. What a great place - can't wait to go back. Missing you already xx

JIM & PHYLLIS - ( MIDLOTHIAN )
.......................................................
August 2016 : Caravan
This was our third visit to Garlieston Lodge and we weren't disappointed. As usual the welcome was friendly and the views from our pitch fabulous. Sitting out was a pleasure and it was fun to watch the ducks and in the evening we saw bats too.
The site is well maintained and facilicities good. Wifi, for those who want it, at a small cost. All in all a great site with a short walk to the harbour. A nice pub nearby and also a PO within walking distance.
Loved it!

Mike and Sue Harding - ( Worcestershire )
…...................................................
August 2016 : Caravan
Another lovely relaxing stay at Rusty and Christine's caravan site. The peace and quiet is just what the Doctor ordered. See you next year all being well.

Sue and Jeff Elliott -  ( Northumberland )
…...................................................
August 2016 : Caravan
I wish we lived nearer. This site is lovely. Trees surround the lake. Ducks and moor hens wander around the pond but do not make a mess. A lovely summerhouse to sit and watch the lake or meet up with other caravaners. Just a short walk past the pond, the pigs sleeping in the sun, and you are on the lane which leads to the nearby harbour. We didn't get the best of weather but still enjoyed our visit. We would definitely visit again if we come back to Scotland.

Margaret &John - (  Shropshire )
…...................................................
July 2016 : Caravan
Back home after two weeks at this absolutely fantastic site.We have toured with our caravan for 46 years and this is the most friendly relaxing picturesque site we have ever visited. We will definately be returning in the future. Thank you Rusty Chris and Darren for making us so welcome on your beautiful well kept site.

Brian and Norma - ( Northumberland )
…...................................................
July 2016 : Caravan
We have just had our second visit to the site,and have booked our next one already. Our dog Yogi,who was a puppy last year when we visited really enjoyed the walks straight from the site,and he enjoyed making friends with the other dogs that go to visit. The site as always, is very well kept,and Rusty,Chris, and Darren are always friendly,and are ready to help whenever they can. The site is a credit to them all. It's so peaceful and relaxing,that you don't want to leave. We have met some lovely people,and hope to see them all again soon. Grahame enjoyed his fly fishing,and I enjoyed chilling out, watching the world go by. We are looking for ward to our next visit. Thanks again.

Angie,Grahame, and Yogi - ( Middlesbrough )
…...................................................
July 2016 : Tent
Well Just Back from Garlieston lodge had fantastic five days, Rusty and Darren very helpful.
Loved the early evening chat in the lodge overlooking the lake with a couple of drinks and met some very nice couples, so relaxing and quiet . Will definitely be back had great time thanks again.

Rob & Margaret - ( Newcastle )
…...................................................
July 2016 : Tent
Lovely site with friendly owners. Excellent site to relax and chill. WiFi signal was excellent, Shower block spotless. We would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Mandy & Paul - ( East Yorkshire )
…...................................................
June 2016  : Tent
First time camping in a tent at this site. Weather could have been better, but great that the other campers on site look out for one another. Rusty and Darren are excellent hosts who keep a clean and tidy site and nothing is too much trouble. This is one of our favorite campsites and definitely wins hands down as a secluded paradise to chill and relax. The evening get together in lakeside lodge for a few drinks is an added bonus.

Gil and Sue Frew - ( Forest of Dean )
…...................................................
June 2016 : Caravan
It's a long way from here but so well worth it.  The most relaxing fortnight's holiday we've ever had.  Waking up naturally at about 9am to the sound of the most joyous birdsong is amazing when for the rest of the year we're out of the house by 6am for work most days.  Rusty and his family are incredibly welcoming and obliging but the other 'guests' are so friendly too.  It felt like one big family.  Thank you to everyone. X

Paul & Jocelyn Granger - ( Northants)
…...................................................
June 2016 : Caravan
Just back from a superb 14 nights at Garlieston Lodge. Really enjoyed it and we were blessed with fantastic weather. Couldn't have had a more friendly welcome and thanks to Darren and Rusty. Met some really nice friendly fellow campers. Our Westie Maddie loved every minute and everybody. Beautiful part of the country. Back in October for the second visit. Can't wait.

Jonathan & Julie - (Silsden, West Yorkshire)
…...................................................
May 2016 : Caravan
Just stayed at Garlieston Lodge for 5 nights in our caravan. This is a lovely quiet site perfect for relaxing. The site was very welcoming to us and our 7 Miniature Dachshunds and Darren was very friendly during our stay, helping in every possible way. Shaun fished onsite with success! We also tried some of the famous sausages and bacon and it lived up to expectations! Once again thank you! 

Alex and Shaun -  (Blaydon Gateshead)
…...................................................
May 2016  : Tent
Just back from another fab weekend at the site, so relaxing and chilled. The guys are brilliant as usual - welcoming and friendly. The site is as beautiful and spotless as ever with great facilities. We're back in August, hopefully for more than just a weekend.

Craig & Fiona - (Paisley)
…...................................................
March 2016 :Caravan
Absolute peace and quiet. Only an hour and twenty minutes along the road from us and it was like being in another world. Tranquility at its best. We will definitely return.
Shower and toilet kept very clean and never had to wait once,  but it's not the kind of place you would be in a hurry to do anything anyway, just a lovely spot for pure relaxation.

Jay & Iris - (Dumfries)
.......................................................
January 2016 : Caravan
I think we have found our perfect site here at Garlieston lodge. So peaceful and picturesque with the delightful pond and seating ereas and even a summer house for guests to join the owners for a chat in the evening. Miles of coastal walks from the site and the beautiful Galloway House gardens are within seconds of the site. Also a wonderful village pub with a roaring open fire and serving delightful meals. What more could anyone want!!! Would definitely love to return soon. Thank you Rusty and Darren.

Mr and Mrs Adrian Fearnley - (Glenluce)
…...................................................
October 2015 : Caravan
Just had another brill week here, already booked up for 2 more next year, fishing fantastic as usual, with plenty of large fish caught.  Rusty, Christine and Darren go above and beyond to make Garlieston Lodge as relaxing as possible with every need catered for.  what else can we say but heaven.  see you next year. :-)))

Shane and Sharon -  (Barnard Castle)
…....................................................
October 2015 : Motorhome
First time on a 5 van site in 50 years camping, found it to be a friendly quiet site and nothing being a bother with Rusty and Darren who assisted with any needs required even down to filling the water tanks, a delightful experience all round.

Richard Leadbitter  - (Durham)
…...................................................
October 2015 : Caravan
Lovely site, well run by very nice People, fed the Pigs... went on walks...went fishing on and off site. Couldn't fault it. Save us a pitch, we'll be back for 2 weeks in 2016!

Carolyn and Malc Proud  - (Co. Durham)
.......................................................
September 2015 : Caravan
Just spent a week at Garlieston Lodge with our 2 labs, our second stay of the year and our 3rd year staying there. Love the friendly adult only site. The setting is lovely and beautifully maintained and you're made very welcome. It's like a little community with regular campers turning up again and again. The village pub allows dogs into the pub and dining room and there are lots of great local dog walks and beautiful beaches to visit nearby. Doggy heaven! We'll be back next year.

Elaine and Bill Grant - (Blairgowrie, Perthshire)
…..................................................
September 2015 : Motorhome
We are just back from another fantastic stay at Rusty and Christine's lovely site . This time we also met Darren and everyone was so welcoming . It is such a quiet and peaceful place . We are already looking forward to next year . It really is a lovely hideaway .

Hazel and Derek -  (Workington)
…...................................................
September 2015 : Motorhome
Love this site. Spotless facilities, exceptionally nice owners and recommend it very highly

Elizabeth Mcdonald - (Fife)
…...................................................
August 2015 : Motorhome
What an idillic setting and so peaceful and friendly. Have stayed several times at the Caravan Club site but this was more personal. Tried my hand at fly fishing under Darren's guidance, an experience you are unlikely to get in many campsites. The meat sold on site was very tasty and the visiting fish van had a good choice of quality fish. Have already booked a further trip in our motorhome in the Autumn and a tent trip next summer. Excellent light system for when toilet/shower engaged. Lovely walks along the coast.

Gil and Sue Frew - (Forest of Dean)
…...................................................
August 2015 : Tent
2nd time at Garlieston lodge and booked to come back next year. Can't express enough how relaxing and peaceful this site is and I don't feel guilty about doing nothing. The site was immaculate as always and Rusty and Darren are always busy doing something to keep it that way, the pork chops are a must for a Sunday lunch and my hubby swears by the haggis. Can't wait for next august thank you again Rusty, Christine and Darren

Alison and Mark -  (Gateshead)
…...................................................
July 2015 : Caravan
We stayed at Garlieston lodge 3yrs on the run, truly amazing, if you want a relaxing break this is the place to be, the huge lake in front of the caravans is very relaxing, you don't have to leave the site, its hidden away in Garlieston with the perfect setting, Rusty and Christine make you very welcome, I have 7 grandchildren so 2 weeks per year adults only is very peaceful, perfect site, perfect holiday.

Ray & Brenda Lovatt - (Mold)
…...................................................
July 2015 ; Tent
If you want total relaxation without any stress this is the site for you. There are no queues for facilities. Everything is kept very clean and the owners laid back and friendly. The beach and the local pub are only a few minutes walk away. Oh and the home grown bacon is fantastic!

Ailsa - (Ayrshire)
…...................................................
June 2015 : Caravan
Just got back from a great 15 night stay,and we are missing it already. Rusty,Christine,and Darren are really friendly.It was our first time at Garlieston Lodge,and we will go back again. We normally run around all over on our hols,but the site is so relaxing,we really did chill out and recharged our batteries. It is such a peaceful place,well kept, and the facilities are spotless. Grahame enjoyed his 3 days fly fishing,and our dog Yogi,loved his walks from the site,being a puppy he couldn't go far,but he loved to chill out by the water under the shade of the trees,and also going to see the pigs which he was fascinated by. I enjoyed catching up with my reading,and just watching the world go by. We met some lovely people at the site,most of whom are regulars. All were very friendly, and really helpful. Special thanks to Lynn for the loan of her sticker( she will know who I mean). We tried the lovely local honey,and the bacon,sausage and eggs which are all from the site and taste so much better than the same bought from the supermarket. The haggis is a must as well. Thank you to Rusty,and some fellow campers who helped to turn our van around when the motor mover failed,we couldn't have done it otherwise. We look forward to our next stay.

Angela,Grahame,and Yogi - (Middlesbrough)
…...................................................
July 2015 : Caravan
Just got back from a 9 night stay with our caravan and cannot recomend this place enough, we didn't want to come home. Rusty and Darren and Christine are always on hand for any eventuality and could not be more friendly.   Husband enjoyed his 3 days fishing on a very well maintained large pond. Spent most evenings under the gazebo by the pond with a drink in hand. The site and facilities are very well maintained. The pork which is sold on site is lovely and wish we had brought some home.  Garlieston lodge is a little slice of heaven and will defiantly be back.

Shane and Sharon with lab Scylla and Juno the cocker - (Barnard Castle)
…...................................................
June 2015 : Tent
Great 7 night stay , site is well kept and the owners Rusty and family cant do enough for you. Will be back with caravan next time. Ps looking forward to the pork!!!

John & Corinne - (Barnard Castle)
…...................................................
June 2015 : Motorhome
We have just arrived home from a wonderful and relaxing stay at Garlieston Lodge.This was our first visit but won,t be our last. Thanks to Darren for help and advice with the fly fishing and to Rusty and Christine for the warm welcome. Ideal for dogs on the campsite and in the local pub.

Lynn and Mike - (Manchester)
…...................................................
May 2015 : Caravan
We have stayed at this site quite a few times now over the last couple of years and its one of our favourites. The site is beautifully maintained by Rusty, his wife and son and we love the way the pitches are arranged around the large pond. Dogs are welcome but children are not, as it is at the local pub and restaurant in the village. So if you're a dog owner who is looking for a friendly small and peaceful well kept site without children running around this is the place to go. We are members of the Caravan club that has a site just across the river from Garlieston Lodge but we much prefer to stay at Rustys.

Elaine and Bill Grant - (Perthshire)
…...................................................
May 2015 : Motorhome
Back home after 3 night stay here - lovely site, very quiet (except when one of my dogs took exception to the cows in the field). Nice choice of walks from the site which we all enjoyed.
Keep up the good work & hopefully be back next year.

Janice and Les Keith cockers Lucy and Harvey - (Newcastle)
…...................................................
May 2015 : Caravan
Just got home after 13 wonderful nights at Garlieston Lodge it is definitely the best site we have ever stayed at and we wish we could have stayed longer. Rusty and Christine are really friendly and from the minute we drove through the gate we felt welcome and at home. Everywhere is kept pristine and it is so relaxing sitting looking across the pond. The location is superb with excellent walks straight from the gate, the dogs loved it too they are all looking very glum tonight as they've missed their walk on the beach.  John loved the fishing and would like to thank Darren for all his help and advice it was much appreciated. We will hopefully be back in the near future.

John & Norma Todd and Border Terriers Fudge, Lola, Sunny & Erin. - (Washington)
…...................................................
May 2015 : Tent
Our first trip to Garlieston Lodge this year, and as usual the minute we are through the gates we feel at home. It is a beautiful site, Rusty & Christine are great hosts, we are regulars now and it's so nice to see familiar friendly faces, but we always meet new people too and that's the joy of this site everyone is welcome even our old (at times yappy) dog, Fleck. The all weather tent pitches are great. See you all again next month.

Jane & Vicki - (Dumfries)
…...................................................
May 2015 : Caravan
Another wonderful week at Rusty and Christine's lovely campsite. Peace and quiet, beautiful surroundings, loads of wildlife to enjoy. Hope to be back later this year (2015).

Sue and Jeff, The Northumbrians.
…...................................................
May 2015 : Caravan
We have just returned from our second visit to Garlieston lodge very peaceful and friendly place love everything about it will visit again

Gordon and Theresa - (Cumbernauld)
…...................................................
February 2015 : Motorhome
We've stayed several times before and as usual we were not disappointed. Some great walks to Rigg Bay and Gallawoy House Gardens as well as nearby Garlieston Harbour and Beach. During evening great pub Harbour Inn, good beer and friendly locals. The site boasted interesting wildlife, kingfishers, buzzards, rare breed pigs, heron and many others.  Rusty and Christine make very good hosts and as usual answered any of our queries. We think the best way to describe our stay here is one big chill out, once parked everything is on your doorstep - post office, pub and store. I strongly recommend you try whatever the time of year.

John & Gail - (Rochdale)
………………………………………......
October 2014 : Motorhome
Another fab visit to Garlieston Lodge. The site seems to attract really friendly people whom are always willing to pass the time of day . Great area for walking the dogs or having a nice meal and a pint or glass of wine  in the dog friendly harbour inn.  On this visit i really
enjoyed the wildlife . I loved watching the deer near the wood in the field next to the site  from my van window or on the walk to Rigg bay and the pheasant whom got great pleasure in annoying my two westies. I must say hello to Bob and the girls ( the pigs ) whom  no matter how sunny it is or how asleep they appear to be , will always wake up if you offer them some apples or carrots . Thanks To Rusty and Chris , Meg and Jack. See you soon on my next visit  .Lynn and  Bonnie and Skye .

Lynn - (Cheshire)
.......................................................
September 2014 : Tent
Had our first visit here in September with our dog, Shya (local celebrity), it had been highly recommended by my mum and dad, who are regulars (Andrew and Brenda)! And it certainly did not fall short of our expectations! The campsite, Rusty and Christine, the grounds and town itself were everything we were looking for. Friendly, quiet and beautiful scenery made it one of the best camping trips we have had yet. Rusty and Christine are doing an amazing job, the campsite itself and the grounds are stunning. The facilities are the best we have seen yet. Will absolutely be back, as long as Andrew and Brenda aren't taking our space! :) It is also now our well kept secret! See you soon :)

Ross Stacey and Shya - ( Dalry )
…....................................................
September 2014 : Caravan
Just home from our second visit of the year to Garlieston Lodge. Although we are members of the caravan club next door to Rusty and Christine's I would choose Garlieston Lodge every time. The adult only site is small, quiet, friendly, tranquil and beautifully maintained by Rusty and his wife, always accompanied by their 2 friendly wee Jack Russell's! The area itself is great for sight seeing and its definitely doggie heaven. The village of Garlieston is so friendly towards visitors and the local pub welcomes dogs into the bar. I heard that the record is 17 dogs! Hopefully we'll be back next year but we'll have to book well in advance as it's so popular. Thanks Rusty and Christine!

Elaine and Bill Grant - (Perthshire)
…...................................................
September 2014  : Tent
Thanks to Christine & Rusty for their hospitality & assistance shown to Brenda and I over our many visits to our Paradise (Fantastic site & location) over the last couple of years . To everyone of our new friends we have made at Garlieston over this time , thank you for your company and hospitality See you all again in the spring of 2015.

Brenda & Andrew - (Largs)
…...................................................
September 2014 :  Motorhome
Just to say a big thankyou to rusty and christine for providing a great site, clean and pleasant suroundings,pork products excellent, and ben (dog)loves it too! looking forward to next year!!

babara and terry - (crewe)
…..................................................
August 2014 : Tent
Thanks  Rusty & Christine, for a great relaxing weekend,you treat us like one of your family and it was a pleasure to meet Darren. No mater when I come and ask for ice you are always happy to help, a G & T is not the same with out ice.
Rusty please never lose the dry humour you have, "a camper skipping site without paying", ha ha.
This is a personal BIG THANK YOU  and you don't need to print this one, hope to make a weekend in Sept. As the Reporter in MMM said "we don't want the whole world coming" that Brenda & I  can't get a pitch. 

Brenda & Andrew - (Largs)
…...................................................
August 2014 : Tent
Just been camping for the first time in about 20yr and could not have picked a lovelier place for it :) garlieston lodge is perfect in every sense of the word. Peaceful and friendly. Rusty and Christine couldn't have been nicer the site is immaculate and they never stop keeping on top of things. Already booked for next year.  Thank you for recharging our batteries fully xx

Alison and mark - (gateshead)
…...................................................
July 2014 : Caravan
Our 4th visit here and we will be returning next year. Most memorable day; Lynn suggested a Sunday morning breakfast for EVERYONE. Twenty people sat down to sausage, eggs, bacon, Haggis, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans and toast. All on the campsite got involved and IT WAS AMAZING!!!!!!!  20 people and 11 dogs.......the pooches had a blast too!!!!!  Super site, great location.......and the weather was fab too. Our thanks to Rusty, Christine, Jack and Meg. ( Graham & Gill - Cumbria )
…...................................................
July 2014 : Motorhome
Thanks to Rusty, Chris , Meg + Jack for another fab trip to Garlieston lodge. Looking forward to my next visit.

Lynn : - (cheshire)
…...................................................
July 2014 : Tent
Sitting at my P.C. writing this review,eating a bacon roll, bacon from the site, wishing I was there, it is our tranquil heaven in the garden of Eden. A truly great place to relax and chill out.  A place we enjoy coming to but hate leaving. Thanks to everyone on site for making it a most enjoyable weekend, see you all soon.

Brenda & Andrew - (Largs)
…...................................................
May 2014 : Motorhome
Having meant to write a review for over a month, I today enjoyed a few hours of grass cutting in the sunshine thinking solely of our visits and finally felt motivated. We stayed twice (and hope for many more). The second stay was booked within an hour of arriving for the first, such was the overwhelming good feelings felt by being on this site. It is the perfect combination - tidy but not clinical, friendly but not intrusive, quiet but not isolated. Such beautiful surroundings, you are never short of a place to rest the eye. For dog owners, it is a heaven where you can enjoy a walk straight out of the pitch (such a bonus with an older dog), and continue it along quiet tracks to join the truly stunning coastline walks. The magic of a place like this is that you don't just enjoy the stay whilst you are there, it continues to give pleasure once you have left. We highly recommend Garlieston Lodge.

John - (Stranraer)
…...................................................
May 2014 : Caravan
We have been caravanning for 40 years now and this is simply the best cs we have ever visited. As others have said it's a jewel and run in a friendly way by Rusty and Chris. Much better than the large site close by. Good walks and a lovely area to visit you cannot help but relax and enjoy. Our first visit but not our last.
Thank you.

aclie and Pete - (Warrington)
.......................................................
May 2014 : Motorhome
JUST OUR MOST FAVORITE SITE. 3RD VISIT OF 2014 - CANT ASK FOR BETTER. QUIET,RELAXING AND EVER SO FRIENDLY HOSTS. (INCLUDING MEG & JACK THE DOGS). SUPERB BACON, EGGS & PORK TO BUY ON SITE. LOVELY WALKS. HARBOUR INN SERVING LOVELY PUB FOOD. GREAT WEE LOCAL. WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR. TRANQUILITY IN ABUNDANCE. ALWAYS MEET RETURNING GUESTS WHICH SAYS IT ALL. SO LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR NEXT TRIP VERY SOON.

William & Roberta Mcaulay - (Adrossan, Ayshie)
…...................................................
May 2014 : Caravan
We stayed here for 4 nights having spent 2 nights and the caravan club site next door as Rusty's site was fully booked those nights. Definitely preferred Garlieston Lodge! It was much more quiet and relaxing there. Enjoyed the fact that it is an adult only site so no kids rushing about on bikes etc. Our pitch overlooked the large pond. The site was very well maintained and the facilities were spotless.   Our dogs enjoyed meeting Rusty's pigs and chickens! The village itself is very lovely with the local pub being dog friendly so you can eat out without leaving your dogs. Also lots of good dog walks around the area. We are home with pork sausages, bacon, pork steaks and haggis all from Rusty's 'shop' onsite. This site will become one of our more frequently visited sites but we'll have to book well ahead as it's very popular!

Elaine and Bill Grant - (Blairgowrie, Perthshire)
…...................................................
May 2014 : Caravan
Just spent 9 days here and we had a wonderful time. the weather was really kind to us. Rusty is a very hard working and helpfull host, running an immaculate site. He has made  an excellent job of the site and we wish him every success for the future.

Don and Sandra Shadbolt - (Bolton, Lancs)
…...................................................
May 2014 : Tent
Arrived home this afternoon after spending 3 fabulous days at Garlieston Lodge.  Our 3rd visit and it certainly not our last, You re made to feel so welcome from the moment you arrived (Rusty & Christine are outstanding hoists) They go out their way to arrange things for you, Thanks to Pete & Brenda for making MY Saturday quit special ( no Driving). 
The site and facilities are immaculate.  The sausages, pork chops, gammon steaks and an egg on top are fantastic! (all from the site) Thank you for a lovely few days, We'll be back!! See you in June.

Brenda & Andrew - (Largs)
…...................................................
April 2014 : Motorhome
Come to Garlieston once a year. First time on this site. It was stunning. The facilities are spotless.nice to have a selection of DVD for when it rains. Great selection of pork which I purchased and it was very tasty and fresh eggs to go with the bacon and sausages.  The peace and quiet its so relaxing. There was so much wild life that came onto the site it was great. Have never seen so many gold finches. Its like a garden of Eden. I can see the hard work and dedication that goes into the site. Lovely couple who make you so welcome. Thank you will never use the club site again.

Cathy Croy - (Fife)
…...................................................
April 2014 : Motorhome
We recently spent 3 nights here and our only regret is we hadn't booked for longer! Lovely warm welcome from Rusty even though we arrived later than planned.  Sampled the bacon, haggis and black pudding and can honestly say we have never tasted better! Booked to go again before we left. Cant wait to go back, a gem of a site. Lovely peaceful location to get away from it all, even though the harbour is literally a minutes walk away. This is definitely one site we will keep going back to.

Sharon & Brendan - (Lancashire)
…...................................................
March 2014  : Caravan
Had a terrific weekend, site is perfect and facilities spotless.
We were made most welcome from the minute we arrived to the moment we pulled off site.
Will have to return sometime when trees are in full foliage as this is a real hideaway .
The pub in the village is a great wee watering hole with food and drink at very reasonable prices and dogs are welcome too.
Thanks again Rusty and Christine we will be back soon

Gordon, Irene and Skye - (Ayrshire)
…..................................................
December 2013 : Motorhome
Hi Guys, Christmas over again and another one completed in our second home, as always fantastic time all the peace and quiet we crave, we are back in the spring  so will be seeing you again soon, thanks to both of you for looking after us as always.


Dave Cope - (Washington)
…...................................................
November 2013  : Caravan
Arrived home this afternoon after spending a fabulous week at Garlieston Lodge. WOW!  What a lovely site.  We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived (Rusty even unhitched the caravan for us!) We had a lovely pitch overlooking the small lake.....what a view!! 
The site and facilities are immaculate.  The sausages, pork cutlets, sirloin steaks and kippers are fantastic!
Thank you for a lovely week!  We'll be back!!


Bob, Lynn & Ruby (Cocker Spaniel) - (Cumbria)
…...................................................
September 2013 : Caravan
We cannot thank rusty and Christine enough for all their kindness ,helpfulness and hospitality Absolutely adore this site and has everything we could ever want. An island of calm in a world of insanity love it love it so do all our dogs and family. Always sad to leave and always big smiles from us and waggy tails from the dogs when we return . Ta very much Mr T and Christine

Irene and Billy  - (Glasgow)
…...................................................
October 2013  : Motorhome
This was our first visit in our new motorhome but will most certainly not be our last. We got a warm welcome from Rusty on arrival and were shown to a lovely pitch overlooking the small lake, trout were already rising and I could not wait to wet a line! What a relaxing place. Easy to understand why it has won so many accolades and all well deserved. We particularly enjoyed the pork,dexter steaks and gluten free sausage,together with bacon as it used to taste and lamb which is still in our freezer,not forgetting the kippers of course. A gourmet`s paradise! Lots of lovely walks a pub and shops with post office all within walking distance of the site. The site itself is spotless with excellent facilities. I am sure you will take all this with a pinch of salt as I don`t want to find that the site is fully booked next time we want to visit!! Many thanks to Rusty. See you soon. Jo and John.

Jo and John Hyde - (Isle of Islay)
…...................................................
October 2013 : Motorhome
This was my third visit this year to this site. As always a very warm welcome. My nephews and brother came to visit camping during my 3 weeks stay. Rusty stored all their camping equipment for me as I had brought it with me in my motorhome.  I stayed longer than planned and ran out of dog food, Rusty helped me by taking me to a wholesalers as my dogs are fussy eaters. I enjoyed feeding the pigs +got quite a soft spot for Bob ( PIG ) who always came to say hello when you pass just in case you had something tasty for him. The area is beautiful as is the site. With wonderful coastal walks 5 minutes walk from the site. Or just sitting in the sun on the site reading and enjoying the views from the site and watching the local wildlife. I even managed to see the deer in the field on my last morning. The area is easily accessible by reliable dog friendly buses if like me you don't want to move the motorhome . The  2 local shops who can supply most things and will order things for
you and the post office is very handy. Then there is the Harbour inn.  What a fab dog friendly pub, staff so friendly, they make you so welcome , excellent bitter , wonderful friendly locals and fabulous steak pie.  If you want a relaxing holiday with clean facilities, site owners who say we don't have problems in garlieston and mean it, as they will do anything within reasons to help you and make your stay enjoyable then you must visit this site. But if you do visit, please don't buy up all the fantastic pork + haggis that the site sell because I want some left for my next visit (s)

Lynn - (Cheshire)
…...................................................
September 2013 : Tent
The first week of Sept was mostly dry, but the gravel pitches mean no mud or water outside the tent, so it doesn't end up inside! This site is so peaceful, the facilities are really good, the village and harbour are a 5 min walk, the little post office sells most things and isn't a rip off. There is plenty of walks for the dog and Galloway house gardens are free to wander around and has some spectacular trees, and it's own beach. All in all a very friendly little site, with some big fish as well for the fishing. Oh try the pork chops. We will be back.

roy & jane - (cumbria)
…...................................................
September 2013 : Caravan 
Well nothing changes still the best site we have visited. We have been here 3 times this year and have booked in for Christmas and New year. Well maintained clean site with clean and ample facilities. yet again Rusty and Christine forever helpful and nothing a bother. We have now booked for six weeks for next year. The locals are so friendly and we have met a lot of lovely people some we will meet again next year. The Harbour Inn is rustic dog and tourist friendly with good food a brilliant pint of Guinness poured by the most attentive and well organized barmaid. This is the nearest village you will get to perfection. Although there is some wonderful villages within easy reach.
I have even managed to arrange storage in the village to save the towing thanks Hillary your a star.

Jim & Phyllis - (Midlothian)
…....................................................
September 2013 : Caravan
A first class site. Rusty and Christine have created something very special. The site is well tended with a real sense of pride in the environment. The award winning haggis is to be recommended as are the first class home reared produce available on siite (try the bacon). The surrounding area has a lot to offer, particularly a welcoming, very dog friendly pub. You also have a well stocked local shop. We would recommend a trip to Galloway forest, also perhaps try a coastal walk.

Thanks Rusty & Christine for your hard work. Wishing you continued success.

Geoff & Clare - (North Wales)
…...................................................
August 2013 : Caravan
Just got home from a wonderful two weeks  holiday. everything immaculate due to all your hard work.  we would advise anyone to book at this site one of the best sites we have stayed at in the 10 years we have been caravanning. We look forward to having another holiday with you  next year  thank you again for making our holiday memory's  wonderful.

Clive and Yvonne - (East Riding Yorkshire)
…...................................................
August 2013 : Tent
Just got home from 5 idyllic days at Garlieston lodge.  Weather was perfect, site just as you would expect it - immaculate, Rusty and Christine were as welcoming as our last visit.  Would never want to go anywhere else.  It was very satisfying to over hear someone in the pub saying they had tried to book this site but it was full knowing that I was staying there - I felt like saying - your missing out on paradise. Oh and the new pitches are fantastic .  roll on next visit

Julie and Kevin - ( Sunderland)
…..................................................
August 2013 :  Caravan
We have just spent 2 weeks at Garlieston Lodge - our first visit here - and what a lovely surprise it was.  The site is beautiful, with large pitches, good clean facilities and lovely views.  The facilities were very clean and spacious and everyone is so friendly.  The whole area is beautiful.  Well worth a visit.

S & G Briggs - (Doncaster)
…...................................................
August 2013 : Tent
Garlieston Lodge ,What a place we can only say a gem of a place! and here's why Great area!
Great site! Great peace and quiet! Great hosts! Great  food supply . ie pork chops , sausages , bacon , eggs! and great fishing!
Immaculately clean and looked after to a high standard!
No hesitation on recommending this site!
We will definably be back!
WELL DONE CHRISTINE AND RUSTY

Malky & Kerry - (Paisley)
…....................................................
August 2013 : Tent
This was our 2nd Visit, a great long weekend break on a outstanding site. We had problems on the Sat. Morning due to Force 6 storm with our large tent and poor pegs. Rusty was there in rain gear with some heavy duty rock pegs that got us fixed in no time, even with the heavy pouring rain by an hour after the storm the pitches where bone dry, a really good camping surface..( the rest of the time was superb weather.)
Rusty & Christine treat you like one of their family, no matter what time you need their assistance they are there to help you.
Very peaceful site in lovely surroundings, there is so many nice places in the area to visit as well as the local Harbour Inn, well worth a visit. Unfortunately cant return this year, but roll on the spring of 2014.

Brenda & Andrew - (Largs, Ayrshire)
…...................................................
August 2013 : Trailer Tent
Just back from 5 nights at Garlieston Lodge. Incredibly peaceful and well run site. Facilities faultless. Some poor weather proved the worth of the sheltered position and gravel tent pitches. Thanks to Rusty and Christine. Oh, and the village is a short walk- try the  Harbour Inn of an evening, we had a great meal there as a treat. 5 days passed in an instant but the effect was like a month away.

David and Marilyn - (Warrington Cheshire)
…...................................................
August 2013 : Caravan
Fab site Fab Owners they work so hard nothing is too much trouble for them.This was our first time on the site and we have really enjoyed it ,have booked for Xmas and the new year.and no doubt we will have a couple of visits in 2014.you must try the pork,eggs sausages and the steak (Delicious) Everything about the site is so peaceful it really is a dropout place.
Luv it  Luv it Luv it will be back soon  xxx

Pauline & David Burkin - (Cheshire)
…...................................................
July 2013  : Caravan
We had a great week at this site fishing is good just the place to relax and let the world go passed just sit and watch ducks or walk down and see the pigs and the beach is just 2 mins round the corner what more would you want the toilet and shower room where spotless well done  Rusty and Christine we hope to get back again thanks

Tommy & Alison  - (Northamptonshire)
.......................................................
July 2013 : Caravan
Just spent a week at Garlieston Lodge, most relaxing, would recommend it to anybody who just wishes to unwind and recharge the batteries.

Keith & Tracey - (Carlisle)
…...................................................
July 2013 : Tent
An excellent week's break on a fantastic site.  The site is immaculate and has everything on hand for a relaxing holiday.
The pub in the picturesque village is very friendly; Maggie and Laura behind the bar always look after you well, fantastic value meals.
Rusty the owner is very helpful, his meat from his rare breed pigs and his free range eggs are top quality.
Rusty you're a perfect host and don't ever lose that sense of humour, its you trade mark....
The new tent pitches are a great idea we had a thunder storm for an hour and a half and when we came out the tent there was no water on the ground.
Thank you Rusty & Christine for a wonderful holiday. Do hope we can return soon.

Andrew & Brenda - (Largs, Ayrshire)
…...................................................
July 2013 : Caravan
Well what can I say just brilliant the owners Rusty and Christine just.know how to look after you and run the best caravan park I have ever been on and I have been on a few since caravanning with my mother and father since 1970 keep up the good work and will hope to see you soon

Keith and Linda Graham - (Camwath)
…...................................................
July 2013 : Caravan
This was our third year staying at Garlieston Lodge - and we ensured we booked for next year before we left. We had initially booked for two weeks but stayed for three because we just didn't want to go home!! You are ensured of a very friendly welcome from Rusty and Christine. The site is immaculate and has everything on hand for a relaxing holiday.....immaculate shower and toilets, washing up/veg preparation area, information/pamphlet gallery and waste points. The very roomy pitches look out on the picturesque trout lake and the field beyond where, if you're lucky you can spot deer grazing. Rusty maintains the site beautifully and the couple are extremely helpful. Rusty rears his own pigs so all things pork are available - we sampled the chops, sausages and Chinese ribs - absolutely delicious!! Eggs are available on site too, and a wet fish van calls on Tuesday evening. There are two shops and a post office in the village, just a two minute walk away and Newton Stewart
(a short drive) has a Sainsburys and an Aldi. There is a Co Op in Wigtown too. There are wonderful walks available from the camp site so cars are not needed. The coastal walk to the Isle of Whithorn is simply stunning, a photographers delight. This award winning site is a real find, we really do recommend staying here.....problem is, you just don't want to leave. Thank you very much, Rusty and Christine, we had a fantastic time. Say 'Hi' to Alma for us.

Graham & Gill  - ( Cumbria)
…...................................................
July 2013 : Caravan
Can only reiterate the comments in other reviews; this is the most relaxing site we have ever stayed.  Perfect. Can not wait to return next year for another week of tranquility, lovely walks, visits to the Harbour Inn (Laura is super behind the bar - always smiling! and visits to other parts of this friendly and very pretty area.  Not to mention feeding the ducks on Rusty's lake and watching the fish 'startle' the  ducklings when they get there first! 

Tracy & Barry -  (Lanchasire)
…..................................................
July 2013 : Motorhome
This is my 3rd visit. It was very hot during stay, myself and the dogs enjoyed paddling in the stream to keep cool. Fab pork, fab views and walks, good bitter and dog chews in the pub and the site smelt wonderfully of honeysuckle. Just re booked for next year. Oh and thanks for the crumble !!  As always nothing too much trouble for Rusty and Chris to make it a great place to have a relaxing break.

Lynn - (Cheshire)
…...................................................
June 2013 : Caravan
My biggest worry is that Rusty and Christine have a fantastic site and everyone will want to come. I am quite selfish and I want to be able to go to Rusty and Christine's when I want. Rusty even showed me the way to the pub I have traveled all over the world but nothing comes even close to sitting in the caravan watching the lake out of the front window and eating Rusty,s bacon. Thanks for every thing hoping to see you both in September.

Jane & Danny - (Yorkshire)
…...................................................
June 2013 : Tent
I can see how this site receives such glowing reports, it was our first time,excellent/clean/friendly site, it's a credit to the owner "Rusty", we stayed the full week and enjoyed the company on and off the site,Rusty's Home bred Sausage and Bacon was a connoisseur delight. The whole area is a sightseer's dream,lovely clean country side, and glorious town's by the sea.
I would highly recommend this site, as I for one will be back ,oh yes plus the wife.

Diane & Chris Geraghty -  (Falkirk)
…...................................................
April 2013 - Motorhome
We had a fantastic long weekend at Garlieston Lodge, simply chilled out with our dog and enjoyed many beautiful walks.  So relaxing and peaceful and the pub, shop and post office is all you need.  The perfect escape.  Garlieston Lodge is a little Gem and everyone is so helpful and friendly, with great facilities.  We very much hope to return again very soon.

Jill and George - (Dumfriesshire)
…...................................................
March 2013 - Tent
A little bit of paradise .............    Thank you.

Anita and Zube - (Edinburgh)
…...................................................
December 2012 -  Motorhome
Excellent site, very well maintained,clean and warm facilities, loved the traffic light system to show when toilet or shower is engaged, viewable from every pitch. Rusty the owner very help full, meat from his rare breed pigs and his free range eggs perfect. Really enjoyed our stay definitely be back.

Ian and Carolyn Bennett - (Stockport)
…...................................................

December 2012 - Caravan
Once again we would like to thank Rusty for a chilling time over the Christmas, New Year break.  Nothing too much trouble.  Had a great time in the Harbour Inn with Maggie and Laura who are always friendly and welcoming along with local people, for a short period of time you feel that you are part of the village.  Re- booked for next Christmas, however we will be back before then.

Lindsay &Ray - (Huddersfield)
…....................................................
December 2012 - Motorhome
We had an excellent 4 night stay over Xmas 2012, despite it being the wettest period ever experienced by local farmers. The toilet/shower unit is a mini-masterpiece, superior to anything experienced elswhere. For our Xmas dinner, we feasted on pork sourced from Rusty's splendid Large Black pigs, who share the site. The area is very good for cycling and walking and the Harbour Inn is a fine haven for being warmed within and without.

David & Marion -  (Threlkeld, Cumbria)
…....................................................
October 2012 - Motorhome
This was my first time away in my new motorhome.The site was just what I wanted, peaceful, friendly, clean and Rusty was very helpful with myself being a novice. I have just booked to go again

Lynn - (Cheshire)
…....................................................
October 2012 - Caravan
Just returned from 10 days at Garlieston Lodge.  As always a very relaxing holiday.  Gammon burgers really nice.  Ate at Harbour Inn.  Good value for money food.  If you want a site to really chill out on, give it a try.  Nothing too much trouble.  Thanks again, Rusty and Christine an all our friends in the Harbour Inn. See you at Christmas!

Ray & Lindsay - (Huddersfied)
…....................................................
September 2012 - Caravan
This was our 4th consecutive September visit and it just gets better and better. Every year we are making more and more friends as people return time and time again.
Thank you Rusty,Christine and Hilary for helping to make our (2nd!) silver wedding celebration an evening to remember joining us for lobster and champagne The campsite is exceptional,we just can't keep away (already booked for 2 weeks in June and our usual early week in September.
The pub in the picturesque village is very friendly and Laura behind the bar is always smiling and looks after you well. Great place to relax after taking dogs on long walk along the shore.
See you all in June and thanks for again X

PS Lucky and Tara say hello to Meg and Jack X
Kate,Mike,Lucky&Tara  (Cumbria)
….....................................................
August 2012 - Tent
Once again a fantastic holiday, this is our third visit and it just get's better and better. It is a little peace haven away from the busy world that we all live in. We always come away relaxed and chilled ready to face the outside world again. Both Rusty and Christine are great they will do their utmost to help whatever the situation and are just lovely people. The area is great for walking and the local pub ( Harbour Inn) is very friendly including biscuits behind the bar for the dogs! Food is good and very reasonably priced. We now have a dilemma as to when to book again for next year think we are aiming for a two visits as we can't decide! Thank you once again for a brilliant holiday.

Julie & Kevin & Beau ( the dog) :) - (Blackburn)
…....................................................
August 2012 - Tent
An excellent week's break on a fantastic site. Had problems setting up due to rocky ground and cheap pegs. Rusty was there with some heavy duty pegs that got us set up in no time, even in the pouring rain.
Very peaceful site in lovely surroundings. Excellent facilities and a very short walk to the local harbor and village. I recommend the Harbor Inn for a nice meal, although it did get very busy on the Friday night and the chef stopped taking orders early.
My parents visited and said they would book up in the future. We will be back.
5/5.

Pete & Elaine - (Durham)
…....................................................
August 2012 - Tent
What can i say a hidden gem .. quiet .. clean .. and no kids ...had a wonderful week there ..yes the sun was out ... we would love to come back .. truth is i would have stayed forever... so thanks you Rusty for a wonderful holiday... and not forgetting the local pub .. what fantastic value meals..

DIANE PICKERING - (Darlington)